Frame: HOA 17-3/4″; WOA 15-5/16″
See acc. no. 5607.14 for Portrait of Lisetta Fries.
A handwritten note by donor reads: “Portraits in the Hall / Francis Fries / 1812-1863 / Lisetta Vogler Fries / dau. / of John Vogler – Parents of Emma Fries Bahnson and grandmother of Mary Louise Davis.”
“Francis Levin Fries organized and built the wool mill during 1839 and 1840. He had gained experience acting as a agent for the Salem Manufacturing Company, a cotton mill constructed in 1836. The mill was owned collectively by the Moravian Church (Southern Province) congregation.
The Fries Woolen and Cotton Mills were later operated by Francis and his brother, Henry F. Fires. Francis died in 1863 and his brother took over operations. Henry W. Fries would run the F. & H. Fries Mill (1882 ad pictured at right). Other relatives would continue in the textile business, primarily wool yarn and clothing into the late 19th century.” http://www.historync.org/NCtextilecos/FriesMills.htm