Old Salem Tumblr

Visit Old Salem Tumblr

  • photo from Tumblr

    Did you know?

    In February 1950, a group of dedicated volunteers established Old Salem, Inc. as a way to begin preserving and restoring the town of Salem for future generations. As Old Salem grew, more buildings were restored and new facilities were added—including the Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts (MESDA). In 2006, Old Salem changed its name to Old Salem Museums & Gardens to better reflect the increasing importance of the garden program and to clearly distinguish that there are multiple experiences available within the Old Salem district.

    02/02/16

  • photo from Tumblr

    Records of the Moravians In North Carolina, Volume I, Adelaide L. Fries, M.A., Ed., 1920

    01/28/16

  • On this day in 1772

    Salem’s “choir of musicians” plays for the first time, and the tune is 151 A, “Passion Chorale.” This is the beginning of the Salem Congregation band, and it still plays 151 A.

    Source: The Founding of Salem, 1766, A Time Line, Moravian Archives 

    01/24/16

  • photo from Tumblr

    On February 10 (1766), the brethren were selected who should move to Salem, but a severe snowstorm delayed the start until Wednesday, February 19, when eight unmarried men went to  the new town “to make a real beginning there.” These eight pioneers came from widely scattered homes, ranged in age from twenty-six to fifty-one years, and had been trained to different trades, though for the nonce they were all to be town builders.

    Records of the Moravians In North Carolina, Volume I, Adelaide L. Fries, M.A., Ed., 1920

    01/22/16

  • photo from Tumblr

    When you first visit Old Salem Museums & Gardens, the architecture of the original buildings in Salem usually catches your eye. Many Moravians were arriving from Germany, and the significant Central European influence is prevalent in the architecture still witnessed today. Over time the Moravians adopted the national styles in the United States, so that early regional examples of Greek Revival and other popular styles are evident. Often, however, with some unique ‘Moravian’ details that persist, such as the arched hood.

    As seen first in an 1800 design by Frederic William Marshall (the Moravian administrator in North Carolina) for the Home Moravian Church front entrance, the elliptical shaped hood has become a local symbol of the Moravians and used on many other buildings, from churches to funeral homes to banks to homes.

    01/20/16

  • photo from Tumblr

    Archaeology at Old Salem

    The Old Salem Department of Archaeology, under the direction of Dr. Michael O. Hartley, conducts an active program of research and exploration into the material and cultural evidence of the Moravian experience in North Carolina. 

    Research conducted by the Department of Archaeology focuses on the archaeological resource within Salem, the relationship of this central town to the broader tract of Wachovia, and the Moravian population of Salem and Wachovia through time. The Archaeology Department carries out careful study of the historic resource, site evaluation, preparation of research designs, and excavation. Reports produced in this work include cultural information gained through study and excavation, and through processing and analysis of recovered artifacts in the Archaeology Department’s laboratory. Reports and articles prepared by the Old Salem Museums & Gardens Department of Archaeology, as well as presentations to professionals and the broader public, increase awareness and understanding of the significance of Old Salem and Wachovia.

    Read this July 2015 piece the Winston-Salem Journal about the recent archaeological dig on the site of the first building in Salem, the builders’ house. The builders’ house will be the inspiration and location of a very special public art display in honor of the 250th.                  

    01/15/16

  • photo from Tumblr

    On this day in 1772…

    January: Br. and Sr. Traugott Bagge move from Bethabara to Salem, where he will keep the church-owned Community Store until his death in 1800.

    Source: The Founding of Salem, 1766, A Time Line, Moravian Archives 

    01/13/16

  • photo from Tumblr

    On this day in 1766…

    A herd of 75 pigs is driven from Bethabara to the new town site. They find Salem so unfit for porcine life they all hightail it for home.

    Source: The Founding of Salem, 1766, A Time Line, Moravian Archives

    01/13/16

  • Lunchtime Lectures

    The Moravian Archives and Moravian Music Foundation are continuing a series of lunchtime lectures

    January 14, 2016
    Mapping Salem
    Speaker: Richard W. Starbuck

    February 11, 2016
    More Fun Finds in the Vault
    Speaker: Nola Reed Knouse

    March 10, 2016
    Salem’s 250th in Music
    Speaker: Nola Reed Knouse

    April 14, 2016
    So You’re a Genealogist, Eh
    Speaker: Richard W. Starbuck

    May 12, 2016
    Music Foundation at 60
    Speaker: Nola Reed Knouse

    The lectures begin at 12:15 p.m. and are free and open to the public (BYO lunch). They are held in the in the Spaugh Lecture/Recital Hall of the Archie K. Davis Center.

    For more information, contact the Moravian Archives at (336) 722-1742 or moravianarchives@mcsp.org.

    01/12/16

  • photo from Tumblr

    Did you Know?

    It took the Moravians around 13 years of careful planning before they felled the first tree and began building Salem in 1766. They had settled in Bethabara in 1753, using it as a base from which to search for the perfect location for their visionary settlement. The result of their hard work was one of the earliest planned communities in the nation, planning that still impacts our lives today. The downtown streets of 2016 Winston-Salem owe their orientation, placement, and grid pattern to the visionary urban planning of the early Moravian settlers.

    Pictured above: Drawn in 1765, this map by Christian Reuter outlines the original plans for Salem. Map image courtesy of The Unity Archives Collection in Herrnhut, Germany.

    01/11/16

Old Salem Facebook

The Town of Salem
THE TOWN
OF SALEM

Experience early American history in the unique Moravian settlement of Salem. Original structures, gardens, tours, artifacts, hands-on workshops, fun family events and shopping.

GARDENS AT
OLD SALEM

Stroll through award-winning restorations that create a landscape reminiscent of early Salem where utility, practicality and beauty united. Tours, workshops and plants for your garden.

MESDA

View history through objects and material culture. Tour a wide range of early southern artistry, craftsmanship and stories found in the world class collection of decorative arts from the early American South, 1660-1860.

Old Salem Museums and Gardens, 600 S. Main Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Phone: 336-721-7300 | visitwinstonsalem.com